Celebrating 30 Years of Landcare in Victoria

Landcare 30 Year Anniversary 2016 LR 85

Above: Alice Knight OAM accepting the 2016 Joan Kirner Landcare Award from the Hon Anthony Carbines MP

The Victorian Landcare Program hosted a celebration of the 30th Anniversary of the Landcare movement with a ceremony that recognised the work of dedicated volunteers.

Parliamentary Secretary for Energy, the Environment and Climate Change, Anthony Carbines attended the ceremony held in Queens Hall, Parliament House and congratulated the Landcare movement on its achievements.

The 30th Anniversary celebrates the launch of Landcare on the 25th of November 1986 by Joan Kirner and Heather Mitchell, when the Winjallok Landcare Group, near St Arnaud, was established.

To mark the milestone, Landcarers across Victoria were encouraged to nominate their colleagues for the awards across selected categories, including the Joan Kirner Landcare Award, Executive Committee Services Awards and the 30th Anniversary of Landcare in Victoria Honour Roll.

2016 Joan Kirner Landcare Award

Alice Knight OAM

Executive Committee Service Award


Peter Berrisford - Bellarine Landcare Group

East Gippsland

Craig Bush - East Gippsland Landcare Network

Glenelg Hopkins

Colleen Lomas - Panyyabr Landcare Group

Goulburn Broken

Allan Stute - South West Goulburn Landcare Network


Dorothy Reid - Birchip Landcare Group

North Central

Doug Hansford - Guildford Upper Loddon Landcare Group

North East

James De Hennin - Mitta to Murray Blackberry Action Group

Port Phillip and Western Port

Irene Pearey - Macclesfield Landcare Group

West Gippsland

Melissa Ainsworth - Yarram Yarram Landcare Network


Michael McMurtrie - Project Platypus Landcare Network

Honour Roll - Celebrating 30 Years of Landcare in Victoria