2017 Victorian Landcare Awards

Recognising the achievements of our Landcarers

Landcare Awards 2017 01

On the first day of spring, Landcarers from around the state gathered at Government House on the invitation of Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria, to honour the achievements of those in our community.

Every two years, the State and Territory Landcare Awards are held to acknowledge the success and achievements of community Landcarers, groups, networks and organisations who have been working to protect and restore our environment and improve agricultural productivity.

In 2017, 85 nominations were received from across Victoria in the 14 award categories. The winners of the nine national award categories will go on to represent Victoria at the 2018 National Landcare Awards.

A particular mention should be made for the recipient of the 2017 Joan Kirner Landcare Award, Terry Hubbard. Terry has been involved with Landcare since 1989.

Congratulations to the all winners, listed below, for their outstanding achievements and commendations to all nominees for their efforts and commitment to Landcare.

Download the Winners Booklet and the collage of nominees from here.

Joan Kirner Landcare Award

Winner: Terry Hubbard

Urban Landcare Award

Winner: Blackburn and District Tree Preservation Society

Highly Commended: Friends of Lower Kororoit Creek Inc

Landcare Network Award

Winner: Connecting Country

Junior Landcare Team Award

Winner: Penbank School - Woodleigh School

Highly Commended: Bass Coast Landcare Network's Environmental Detectives Team

Australian Government Excellence in Sustainable Farm Practices Award

Winner: Woady Yaloak Catchment Group

Highly Commended: Simon Falkiner

Australian Government Innovation in Agricultural Land Management

Winner: Simon Falkiner

Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award

Winner: Ian Higgins

Highly Commended: Ian Grenda, Jim de Henin and Kaye Rodden

Commended: Penny Roberts and Ann Robson

Australian Government Partnerships for Landcare Award

Winner: Wandoon Estate Aboriginal Corporation

Austcover Young Landcare Leader Award

Winner: Kathleen Brack

SureGro Coastcare Award

Winner: Friends of Beware Reef

Fairfax Media Landcare Community Group Award

Winner: Tarrangower Cactus Control Group

Highly Commended: 3 Creeks Landcare Group

Commended: Yarra Valley Equestrian Landcare Group

Rio Tinto Indigenous Land Management Award

Winner: Angela Jeffery

Highly Commended: Waka Walla Land Management Crew

Commended: Windamara Aboriginal Corporation

Victorian Farmers Federation/Landcare Victoria Inc. Heather Mitchell Memorial Fellowship

Winner: Sandii Lewis

Dr Sidney Plowman Travel and Study Award

Winner: Bret Ryan

Highly Commended: Tony Gardiner and Kate McWhinney